Footy In A Week


Henry enters history
May 12, 2006, 2:30 am
Filed under: Premier League

Thierry Henry became the first player to receive the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year Award three times. On receiving the award, Henry explained his appreciation of the English approach to football. He said: 'I really hope that you can have another 1966 happen to you. I see the passion you have here for your national team and how much you want them to win. 'You are a nation who loves sport and football and I hope you win the World Cup again because you deserve it. People like you deserve to win it.' It was the third time Henry picked up the Football Writers' Award, and he continued: 'I am very happy to make history here. My dad was pretty harsh when I was young and he told me never to be satisfied with what I had.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment