Footy In A Week


Update on Zidane’s headbutt
July 11, 2006, 2:06 pm
Filed under: World Cup 2006

Seems like what lip-reading professionals are saying is a bunch of contradicting bull, as five lip-reading professionals have given different opinions of what Materazzi said.

The Sun’s lip-reader, for instance, claims that Materazzi called Zidane a “son of a terrorist whore“. The newspaper also cites ‘a source close to the Italian squad claiming that after twisting Zidane’s nipple, Materazzi asked him: “What, don’t you like it?” The French captain replied: “A bit too hard to turn me on.” But Materazzi shouted: “Well, I did it that way because I know that’s how your mother likes it.“‘

The Guardian‘s lip-reader claims that Materazzi said, “I wish an ugly death to you and all your family,” and then told Zidane to “go f**k yourself“.

The Independent’s lip-reader has a slightly different interpretation as well. ‘It is alleged that Zidane responded by sarcastically telling Materazzi that he could have his shirt as a souvenir at the end of the match,’ the newspaper reports. ‘The Italian is alleged to have responded by saying that Zidane could keep it for his sister and then made an extremely derogatory comment about her. That version is backed up by lip-readers from the Brazilian TV channel globo.

As for The Daily Mirror, their frontpage informs readers that ‘The furious French captain attacked Marco Materazzi after the defender allegedly sneered: “All Muslims are terrorist b*****s.

Italian newspapers are saying a different story though.

A number of Italian newspapers claim that Zidane insulted Materazzi’s mother, with the former Everton defender saying that the Frenchman “made love to his sister“.

However, Materazzi’s agent has also reportedly offered his own unique account of the verbal exchange, claiming that Zidane offered to swap shirts later and the Italian replied: “‘I’d rather take the shirt off your wife.

But it seems like The Independent has the most credible lip-reader. According to Gazetta dello Sport, Materazzi has told them that ‘I held his shirt for a few seconds only, then he turned to me and talked to me, jeering.

He looked at me with a huge arrogance and said, `If you really want my shirt I’ll give it to you afterwards’. I replied with an insult, that’s true.

Materazzi has not elaborated on what he did say, but one report suggested he responded with: `I’d rather take the shirt off your wife’.

He has denied, however, some of the more vile insults referring to his wife or sister or calling him a terrorist.

It was one of those insults you’re told dozens of times and that you often let fall on a pitch,‘ Materazzi said.

I did not call him a terrorist. I am not a cultured person and I don’t even know what as Islamist terrorist is.

He added: ‘For me the mother is sacred, you know that.

Zidane himself is yet to speak on the incident but his agent yesterday claimed the reaction was due to a ‘very serious’ comment.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

‘I did not call him a terrorist. I am not a cultured person and I don’t even know what as Islamist terrorist is.‘
qaweeeeeeeeeeeeya
moo 3alaina hal kalam
everyone knows!!

he deserves it in my view
check out:

http://yazeez.com/?p=294

Comment by Yazeed

Materazzi is a well known racist dirty player in Italy.

Comment by Carlsb3rg

Zidane’s agent says all the rumors going around aren’t true, that the only thing Zidane told him was that Materazzi said something “serious” to him, he also says that Zidane will say everything today in a press conference..
I want to know what Materazzi SAID!

Comment by LiNo0oH

So why is it that what ever Zidane will say will be the truth? All these people who come to the defense of Zidane seem to forget that this is not the first time he has done something like this. Look back to 98, or in the CL.

Comment by anon




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

